Rick Toracinta Graduate Fellowship


Call for Applications for 2021 Rick Toracinta Scholarship

Updated 09/24/2021



Dr. E. Richard (Rick) Toracinta was a talented research scientist with the Polar Meteorology Group of the Byrd Polar and Climate Research Center at The Ohio State University. In addition to his polar work, Rick had a passion for severe weather and was a volunteer storm chaser on the Great Plains during many springs. This scholarship commemorates Rick's lasting interest in the atmosphere as well as his desire to be a teacher.

This prestigious scholarship is awarded biennially to a graduate student studying atmospheric science, broadly defined, at The Ohio State University. Preference will be given to students specializing in severe weather (e.g., thunderstorms, tornadoes, and hurricanes), polar meteorology or polar climatology. The selection criteria include academic performance, excellence as an instructor (if appropriate), financial need, and intended use of the scholarship funds to advance one's graduate studies.

To apply, send a statement (typically 1-2 pages), describing your current and past research, student activities, financial need and intended use of funds. Examples of the latter include travel to a conference or to undertake field work for one's degree, payment of page charges on a refereed manuscript, research equipment, and/or other anticipated research related expenses. Include copies of your undergraduate and graduate transcripts. Provide a cover page that specifies your name, project title, phone, email address and your advisor's name, phone, and email address.

By Friday, October 15, 2021 send these materials to:

Professor David Bromwich
Polar Meteorology Group, Byrd Polar and Climate Research Center &
Department of Geography, Atmospheric Sciences Program
The Ohio State University
108 Scott Hall
1090 Carmack Road
Columbus, OH 43210
E-mail: bromwich.1@osu.edu

The $2,000.00 scholarship will be awarded by early November 2021. The recipient will be selected by a 3-member committee. For more information, contact David Bromwich at 614-292-6692 or bromwich.1@osu.edu.

The next award will be made in Fall 2023.

Zhuying Li
Zhiying Li, 2019 Rick Toracinta Scholarship Recipient.

2019 Recipient, Zhiying Li

Congratulations to Zhiying Li, Ph.D. Candidate, Department of Geography, 2019 Rick Toracinta Scholarship Recipient.

Zhiying’s dissertation work focuses on relative importance of drivers of river discharge and prediction of flow regimes across the United States. Her interdisciplinary research is at the nexus of climatology, hydrology, and human behavior.


Past Recipients

Year Recipient
2019 Zhiying Li
2017 Geoffrey Dipre
2015 Melissa Wrzesien
2013 Julien Nicolas
2011 Rachel Mauk
2009 Ellyn McFadden
2008 Dan Steinhoff
2007 Lijia Wei